Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

Back to JR's Bar & Grill

ALL REVIEWS FOR JR'S BAR & GRILL (44)

  • aes92975 gave this place *
    um......
    Still not sure about this place. It was once one of hottest spots in town. On a recent visit there were only 5 people in the whole place. 5 people at 11pm on a Saturday. Lame

    December 1, 2013 ·

  • jakesmydawg gave this place *
    Don't go alone
    Just moved here, been there several times. I am a decent looking dude too. The bartenders do not care who you are and it is not good to go alone. clicky and not a pick up bar at all. I would go back with friends but not alone. No place to sit so be prepared unless you want to sit alone on the upper deck where no one goes that I noticed.

    February 7, 2013 ·

  • postcub gave this place *
    Great local bar. The young IT bar of DC
    Every city has THE bar to go to and JR's is DC's. Its a great place to have a drink and meet folks. It can get crowded. It draws a lot of young folks.

    January 31, 2013 ·

  • lexi.silva.jr gave this place *
    Best place to take your close friends
    The bartenders are very entertained, you can talk to your friends and at the same time appreciate the music. Drinks are affordable.

    October 16, 2012 ·

  • pealsan gave this place *
    Good for video lovers of all ages
    This is another decent bar in DC gay area, the main theme is music videos so if you like to drink, socialize a little (music is bit too loud to talk I felt so just smiling or winking at other guys might be better, ;-) hehee) while apreciating good music videos, this is a good place for you.

    July 14, 2012 ·

  • friskyfuzzybear gave this place *
    fun time
    I was there on 4-22 by invitation of a friend. Lots of fun for a Sunday afternoon..

    April 29, 2012 ·

  • hotrodman88 gave this place *
    nice drinking place
    pretty good place

    February 10, 2012 ·

  • MarcAnthony9999 gave this place *
    A must when visiting Washington...
    JR's is Washington DC's most popular local bar. Its a neighborhood staple and in the heart of Dupont Circle!

    August 24, 2011 ·

  • gwenluc gave this place *
    busy, loud, friendly
    Went there on a sunday evening, was pretty packed and great deal $2 vodka and beer, so of course we stayed the entire night :) some friendly people to chat to, popmusic on tvs quite loud, not a bad night!

    August 1, 2011 ·

  • DiggerFL gave this place *
    Casual, hunks, and more
    Great spot to grab a drink, hang and enjoy the sights. Not pretentious, rather, go here for the music, drinks and remix videos of popular tunes. The dj hada good mix of tunes and the hot bartenders were good eye candy, quiet, but eye candy! A good experience overall.

    July 30, 2011 ·

  • bobyorkpa gave this place *
    fun time
    Enjoy when I visit. Friendly service

    July 27, 2011 ·

  • aw_dc gave this place *
    Music Videos
    Sometimes you just want to grab a drink, hear some good music and watch the world go by as you talk to your friends. JR's is the perfect place for this. This music video bar attracts men of all ages, and always has a great selection of music vids playing in the background. No dancing is allowed, in theory, but sometimes after a long week that's all a man needs. If the following statement sums up your mood, then you should definitely go here. "Give me my beer and my Kylie please. I'll be in the corner catching up with my friends."

    July 8, 2011 ·

  • eclectic1978 gave this place *
    Neighborhood bar
    One of my favorite gay staples in D.C. This is where many start their nights out. Excellent Thursday all you can drink for $15 happy hour and also popular on Sunday afternoon/evenings (affectionately called "going to church" here in D.C.)

    April 22, 2011 ·

  • Sharz gave this place *
    excellent place
    im jamaican and every time im in DC i def have 2 go there! 5 stars

    April 14, 2011 ·

  • chip2010 gave this place *
    unfriendly
    Just unfriendly. Everyone

    January 6, 2011 ·

  • Jaguar2 gave this place *
    Favoriate Bar!!
    I have traveled the US and this ranks as one of my most favorite bars. Always a good looking-well dressed crowd, drinks are strong, but it does get packed. Parking in the area is difficult for out-of-towners but its worth it. Lots to see and do along 17th Street.

    October 1, 2010 ·

  • aussie_hot_guy_007 gave this place *
    Not for outsiders part 3
    If you are not a local..don' bother with this bar.... Didn't even get into the front door...Australia Drivers license wasn't ID...I can hire a car and drive in the USA..get into bars in NYC, Boston, Montreal and Toronto however that's not enough for JR's..your loss..

    September 3, 2010 ·

  • jase47 gave this place *
    A good bet
    I've been a visitor to DC on several occasions, and I have always found JR's a pleasant and dependable watering hole. The music is good, the drinks reasonably priced, and always fairly crowded. I can't agree that it's an unfriendly place; both and alone and with my partner, I found plenty of locals to chat with. As a general rule, you may have to take the initiative, but the clientele seemed quite open to socializing. Like most American bars these days (gay and straight), there is a surfeit of televisions. And like most Washingtonians, the patrons tend to be conservatively dressed and mannered. But other than that, I can't find a lot to complain about. A good bet.

    August 10, 2010 ·

  • daveandrew gave this place *
    Not for outsiders
    Went for a drink 1 sunday night ion july while visiting d.c. Place was packed full of locals who all knew each other. I'm 31 and my bf is 26 and we were clearly the youngest guys there. Had a cpl of $2 skye vodkas and left after an hour. No-one to chat to, were all in their own groups.

    August 6, 2010 ·

  • satuple gave this place *
    not for outsiders
    Was visiting DC for week and heard of this place so I went there 3 hoping to find good music videos and friends since it was conviently located, but unless you are just standing around a being completely ignored better to go somehwere else. The place is packed ith self-important, stuck up guys who seem to be all friends with each other ONLY, and would never dare say Hello to an "outsider." ALl I can say if your outsider looking for friends or fun times I would not recommed this place.

    August 1, 2010 ·

  • lookingood gave this place *
    Fun
    Enjoyed watching the guys get into the mood with the songs

    July 1, 2010 ·

  • AndrewE gave this place *
    Avoid JR's
    I have been there four times really wanting to like the place (good music videos, location). Unless you are into S&M (standing & modeling), go somehwere else. Filled with self-important, stuck up guys who are in the same clique and would never dare say Hello to an "outsider." Worse yet, the guys have no reason to be stuck up because, well, they just aren't that pretty, and they're certainly not masculine.

    April 9, 2010 ·

  • Centauro291 gave this place *
    Manager Lacks People Skills but Has a Full Beer
    Upon walking in to JR's, you can't help but notice the large TVs hanging all over above eye level. I do like the TVs, because a solo traveller like myself can walk in, order a cocktail, and be amused by the pop videos on the tube. That's about it. The crowd is everything from prancy twinks to old republicans still in their suits from a hard day at the capitol. The attractiveness of the patrons is hit-or-miss, and the possibility of conversation is slim. Monday nights are fun because of the show tune videos playing, but on other nights the crowd is sparse and the men have the social skills of a neanderthal. The two times I was approached by two men to whom I made no overt eye contact, which left me wanting to permanently attach my cell phone to my ear, or walk in with radio dj sized headphones on so that I discouraged any other conversational morons from approaching me. The first contact winked and then made his way over, despite my telepathic attempts to discourage him from approaching, and then told me we should leave together and perform cirque de soliel acts together in my hotel room. I used the boyfriend defense and he practically slammed into the back wall to get away. The second complemented my glasses, and was not discouraged by my thanking him and immediately averting my eye contact, complemented with a beer sip. He proceeded to rub his leg all over me and attempted to start the dry hump, and suddenly I received a phone call from my imaginary boyfriend on my cell phone set to silent. The only redeeming qualities of this bar were Alex and Chris, two cute, friendly bartenders who exuded warm and friendly smiles added with a bit of flirtation. Better ask for a last drink though, because after one of the nice bartenders left, I was turned down for a drink without the offer of a last call.

    April 1, 2010 ·

  • specialtimes gave this place *
    Great Sunday happy hour!

    November 20, 2009 ·

  • 1outta4 gave this place *
    Showtune Monday fun!
    I'm not sure if JR's is officially a chain, but DC's JR's is similar in feel to those I've seen in Houston and Denver--a sort of gay "Cheers." Wood panelling, stained glass, and cute boys are common at JR's, and DC's is no exception. Monday Showtune night started off slow but ended up completely packed, and the VJ kept a steady stream of musical numbers going on the screens, ranging from TV clips to a rare Broadway bootleg. The staff was all cute, but a little rude--after waiting in line to close out the tab, we were told to go see another bartender who'd already left for the night and then ignored.

    October 27, 2009 ·

  • Tranquil gave this place *
    Not for people of color
    The title above says it all. Thanks.

    October 6, 2009 ·

  • kennafearl gave this place *
    JR's
    It can be a very good time. When it is very crowded some people tend to get somewhat edgy, but Why do you go to a crowded bar? They do have some knock out drink specials for the boys on a budget.

    September 28, 2009 ·

  • rswallis gave this place *
    A 17th Street Mainstay
    JR's is THE Washington, DC bar. It's old and unassuming and I like it that way. A great neighborhood bar to meet your friends and enjoy great happy hour specials. Thursdays from 4-8pm are especially popular: $11 all you can drink, and we certainly take advantage of that. Can get very crowded later in the evening. Perhaps not the best pick-up joint, as many of the regulars tend to gather with their friends. But generally, the regulars are very friendly. Ages range from 21-65 and everyone is welcome and made to feel at home. Super staff remembers your drink and always greets everyone with a smile. They're cute, too.

    September 27, 2009 ·

  • MusicDoc gave this place *
    Just OK
    Went on a Wednesday night, and the bar was rather full. Drinks were very pricey and the televisions were mostly old tube TVs (not very good for videos these days). Definitely a stand-around and talk bar, nothing too exciting. In a nice area though, if you're looking for a place to eat.

    August 4, 2009 ·

  • Fred_Head gave this place *
    Oh please. Like you need to ask.
    Everyone in the country has at least HEARD of the DC JR's. When you go in there, it's like entering the hot zone of airborne Gay Attitude Virus. Better wear a mask and gloves. Also, if you're going to pay premium prices for drinks, at least make them properly. The whole bar is 3-4 guys standing in circles texting each other with a sad, outdated video and dance music collection, and outfits from the mall. Avoid.

    May 20, 2009 ·

  • benfrombmore gave this place *
    Always a regular stop
    Always something interesting, upbeat on the video. I have found the bartenders to be, without exception, friendly and attentive.

    April 12, 2009 ·

  • booozer gave this place *
    Great Video Bar
    Fun Place, Cute Men, Nice bartenders. Great place to meet your friends before heading out to clubs.

    March 22, 2009 ·

  • Coopaul gave this place *
    Fun bar
    Consistently popular, especially on Sunday afternoons and Monday nights.

    February 24, 2009 ·

  • drmarco gave this place *
    Worst JR's in the country....
    Went here after dinner on a Saturday night, it was very crowded. The place was horrible, the service was horrible. You would think they could expand a bit. I've been to three other JR's in the country, this one was by far the worst one.

    January 12, 2009 ·

  • philareal gave this place *
    smelled and dirty
    THIS PLACE LOOKS LIKE A GAY RUBY TUESDAYS, BUT NO SALAD BAR.

    November 20, 2008 ·

  • Traveler1022 gave this place *
    Crowded & Cliquish
    I try to avoid this place, but sometimes it’s a convenient place to stop in for a quick drink. The building is long and narrow, which means as soon as it gets busy, you can’t move. Somehow, even though I am a local, JR’s has always made me feel like I don’t belong. Too many of the guys seem to think the rest of us are there to admire them.

    June 5, 2008 ·

  • mb300e gave this place *
    Great Watering Hole
    Been a staple for decades on 17th St!

    April 29, 2008 ·

  • jjdc gave this place *
    classic and friendly
    JR’s is a true neighborhood bar. Crowd and staff are consistently friendly. You can count on a crowd just about every night of the week. Diverse in age and style. A good cross section of the DC gay community. It’s a DC staple and very worth a visit.

    January 3, 2008 ·

  • sunrock gave this place *
    Just pop in
    JR's is a Washington staple. On the main gay drag, it has a diverse crowd of both the young and old. Many theme nights with various music videos. No dancing. A singular pool table. A great place to start your evening. No attitiude staff and patrons, it's busy Thursday thru Sunday. A fine first choice.

    October 11, 2007 ·

  • Scott gave this place *
    Great place to meet new friends
    So I wouldn't call this a stand & model bar, although a few people seem to act like it is. I went there on a night where they were playing rock videos from the 80s - fun! It was easy to strike up conversation here and I enjoyed having a drink in this crowd. The upstairs area is odd, only room enough for a pool table. Seems like many people stop here for happy hour, or before heading to Cobalt down the street.

    August 18, 2007 ·

  • elbjo gave this place *
    Center of the 17th Street Snobbery
    I have lived in DC for 11 years and avoid this place. It is the best place in town if you like tired old "boies" who flit about admiring themselves in the mirror. It is loud and poorly laid out, so you have to run the gauntlet to get to the bathroom. Go to JRs if you never have been there and/or are visiting. But once will be enough.

    June 19, 2007 ·

  • Devlin_DC1957 gave this place *
    Just what you'd expect a Gay Legend to be!
    JR's is a DC Institution and deservedly so. All types hang out there. As someone said, it DOES have a lot of "post-twinks" and trust-fund babies (or those who pretend to be one), but all in all a thoroughly nice place. Four other Gay bars within 1.5 blocks and MANY restaurants, all gay friendly. Gotta go to Annie's if you plan to eat before after or before going out. Annie's is a well-beloved gay restaurant in DC, and has been for decades. THE place to see and be seen in the Dupont area.

    December 27, 2006 ·

  • MarknDC gave this place *
    Reality check
    OKay, everyone says JR's is an "S&M" (Stand and Model) bar - as though the guys are devistatingly handsome. Trust me, I've lived here for 9 years and JR's is where the guys who are too old for Nation and too boring for Cobalt hang out. JR's is open all afternoon and in to the evening, so if you are looking for a place to pick up an alcoholic, this is the place to go. It gets WAY crowded by 11 - GOd forbid thereis ever a fire. The patron's hair spray alone would set the place ablaze in seconds. The videos are good and the crowd is friendly enough, but JR should only be one stop on the 17th street bar crawl. Be sure to hit Cobalt and Chaos just a couple blocks up.

    March 18, 2006 ·

  • kdogg36 gave this place *
    My favorite place in the world
    The first thing you need to know about JR's is that it's tiny and crowded, and this can be a bit intimidating at first. JR's also has a reputation for preppy snobbishness, but I don't think this is fair at all; almost anyone can find some friends at JR's if they give it half a chance. Yes, there's a large contingent of beautiful post-twinks, but in reality, you will find guys of all shapes and sizes (and ages, up to about 45 anyhow) at JR's on any given night. One warning: if you take great offense at guys "accidentally" touching your butt as you push your way through the crowd, JR's may not be for you. On weekends, start out at JR's and then follow the crowd to Cobalt or Apex... and don't miss the showtunes singalong on Monday nights!
    first review First to Review

    March 6, 2006 ·





Back to JR's Bar & Grill »